What the hell is a BBW? Am I one?

Well… Here’s a fun fact about BBW’s:

There is technically no set standard for what a BBW is. The term was coined by by Carole Shaw in 1979, when she launched BBW Magazine, a fashion and lifestyle magazine for plus-sized woman. Given that the term should be applied to anyone wearing a XXL or larger. Using that as a standard based on the origins of the term it would be about a size 20 and up.

Interesting….

I wear an XL tshirt, a 42DD, 22/24 panties, 22/24 jeans, and a 22 dress.

Am I considered a BBW? First and foremost, I actually hate the term BBW. Most women that use BBW are not just big, but they are unhealthy. They are beautiful, yes, and they are women, yes. BBW is a catch-all term, and it usually drives me bonkers. I am a woman. I am big, I am beautiful, and most of all: I’m HEALTHY. I’m not fat because I’m lazy. I’m not fat because I over eat, or I eat the wrong things. I’m fat because of genetics and a disease/condition (hypothyroidism). I find that a lot of times the moniker BBW is misused. It is used to be a term to describe someone who is proud of their fat–which…More power to you! I’m definitely not a BBW hater, I just can’t stand how it has become a catch-all, instead of being a prideful and truthful term.

What am I?

I’m a woman who struggles with weight, who works out often, who eats right and who realizes that she will NEVER be small–thanks to body structure and genetics. Does that mean I give up and I’ll accept the idea of being fat for the rest of my life? Hell no. Do I want to be “the fat friend” my whole life? Hell no. Do I want to be “The beautiful big woman”? HELL no. Do I want to panic when I’m sending a nude picture to someone? Good god, do I really have to ask that? No. I dont. Even if the person enjoys “BBW’s”, there is always that moment of panic realizing that you are fully exposed…..Fat and all.

I know I’m a big woman. I know I’m beautiful (Well…at least that’s what I’m told) but man, I’m tired of being LABELED. Skinny women don’t have a moniker to go by. Why do we need one? I really think that it’s uncalled for. If you want to be proud of yourself, be proud. Be proud of yourself though for something more than just your appearance. Be proud that you are a strong woman. That you are funny, smart, entertaining, a good cook, a bad cook, able to do yoga, who cares what you are proud of–but be proud of yourself for something.

Having a description of yourself is great. I’m an amazon, by classic description. Painfully strong, very tall, athletic and domineering. That’s me, to a T. No where in there does it describe whether or not I’m fat. Considering weight is my primary spawn of self-esteem issues, I tend to hesitate when calling myself a BBW, only because….I hate to say it…..It conjures up images of a size 30+ woman, with an ass the size of my couch. That’s not fair to me, nor is it fair to the real BBWs that embrace that description.

 

All in all. I dont want a label anymore. I just want to be myself, and I just want to be beautiful for who I am, not what the scale says.

Leave a Reply

